The South African Mint

Commemorative general circulation and collector coins to mark 25 years of constitutional democracy in South Africa. The typography reflected on the coins – both obverse and reverse – was designed by Garth Walker for the Constitutional Court of South Africa in 2003/4, and is based on an accurate interpretation of apartheid era prisoner cell-wall graffiti, as documented on Constitution Hill and the Court site during construction.